Today is the Day!

When I finish writing this, I will close my eyes and go to sleep. When I wake in the morning, I will load the last of the stuff that I plan to take into the car and then my son and I will leave for Florida for good. 

My wife and daughter will follow on Friday with the rest of the stuff. We don’t get access to our beautiful home until Friday, but I have to be at work on Thursday. 

We decided that it would be in the best interest of the family for me to get a job so that I could pay the last of my debt off quicker and we could start saving more. And, like a prayer answered, the perfect job fell out of the sky for me: I will be teaching middle school engineering at a charter school. Small class sizes, more freedom. 

I am so excited. I haven’t been this excited about a job since I got my last one. I am looking forward to going back. 

I also finished grad school this last week, so my SECOND masters is in the books with a 4.0 to show for it. 

I am sad to be leaving the only real home I’ve ever known, but I’m also excited to be starting this new journey with my amazing family and I’m so grateful for all the opportunities we’ve been given so far. 

This is so good for us to get away from a place that has become so toxic over the years. It’s home to me, but that doesn’t mean it’s always good. Aside from my friends and my family, there is nothing for us here anymore. Especially not for Erin, as the state voted to screw over every child with autism on Medicaid ever. 

I keep reminding myself to take deep breaths. The day has come, ready or not, so let’s hope that I’m ready!

Posted on August 2, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

