30 Days of Brave: Day 2

day2

Today’s challenge was to find a way to hold ourselves accountable for our goal.  It gave us some suggestions, and without really knowing it, I ended up doing a couple of them already.

I could make a public announcement: check.

Or I could recruit a friend to join me: check.  (I convinced my wife to get in on this, and she’s been doing stuff sooner than me.)

But neither of those are near as motivated at what we actually did today: raised our stakes.  What happens if we don’t meet our goal?  What happens if we don’t maintain our goal?

Well, our goal is to work out for 30 minutes, 3 times a week (at least).

And here’s our consequences:

Mine: If I don’t work out for the amount in our goal, I lose all sugary treats permanently until I’m able to work out three times a week for a month straight.

Erin: If she doesn’t work out for the amount of time given, she can only play her switch for one hour once a month until she is able to work out three times a week for a month straight.

Those are some pretty motivating factors for us, so here’s to hoping we can hold ourselves accountable.

Today’s journal prompt is: Staying committed to my 30-day goal is important to me because…

It means that I will be a healthier and happier and more peaceful person.  It means that when it comes time to start trying to expand our family again, I will be in a healthier position to do so.

Not that my body was the actual problem in my pregnancy.  In fact, my body wanted to have that baby so bad that even after it died, my body held onto it for three and a half weeks and would have continued to hold on to it for who knows how long if we hadn’t had the D&E.

But I can always be healthier, and I can always be more active, and I can be more ready for IVF so that when it comes time for that in August, we won’t have to wait as long for things to take if I am in the best health I can be at the time.

It also means that I’ll be better able to take care of my family if I’m taking care of myself.  There’s big changes around the corner, and to make things move smoothly, I need to be the best that I can be.  Taking the best care of myself as possible is the number one way to make that happen.

Posted on May 16, 2017, in 30 Days Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

