30 Days of Brave: Day 1

While this isn’t the big update that I was planning to do, I came across a friend who was doing this “challenge” via Instagram, so I looked into it and decided it would be a good way to start getting back into my spiritual blogging.

In the last few months, I’ve been so insanely busy that I’ve let my spiritual life sorta fall to the wayside, and now it’s time to stop doing that and get back my peace.  With so many changes coming up soon for my family, this would definitely be a good time to start focusing on peace (because the chaos is going to be all around).

The 30 Days of Brave Challenge was created by Intention Inspired.  The idea is that you pick a goal, and then they send you daily e-mails with helpful hints and inspiration to help you reach your goal.  There’s also a blog/journal prompt, and I figure here would be the best place for it.

My goal is to change my diet into one that is healthy, with 75% being plant based, and also to increase my activity level to a minimum of 30 minutes a day.  There are so many things happening right now that I have to be brave about, but I think the above will prove to be the most challenging of them all.

day1

Today’s brave act was to choose a physical object to remind us of why we decided to commit to this challenge.  I am choosing the tiny hippoimg_9367 charm I have on my necklace.  It’s my idol image of the Goddess Taweret.  She is the protective Goddess of childbirth and fertility.

She was hanging above my heart when I found out I was pregnant, and she was hanging above my heart the day we learned our baby’s heart had stopped beating.  She was above my heart when I felt like it was breaking.  I carried her in my purse when I had my D&E a week and a half ago.

She’s my reminder that I can become pregnant and the hope I have of carrying a child to full term, even if we have to wait a few months to allow my body to “reset” from everything we’ve been through.  She is the reminder of why i have the goals I have: I have a drive to carry a child of my own, and I have the knowledge that I am able to carry.  I can spend this time I have been given to focus on becoming a healthier, more active, and more peaceful version of myself so that when we begin again, I will be even more ready to accept the gifts I have been given.

Today’s journal prompt is: What was the seed that inspired you to start this 30-day challenge?

The answer to this question is easy: My miscarriage and my desire to expand my family through pregnancy and child birth.

My wife and I have two children through adoption, but we also want children of our own.  My pregnancy was the first steps towards that goal, but sadly, I suffered from a missed miscarriage.

A missed miscarriage is where the embryo dies, but your body doesn’t realize it.  Your pregnancy continues to move forward without hitch.  There’s no cramping, no bleeding, nothing.  Our baby died at eight and a half weeks, but it wasn’t until three and a half weeks later that we found out at our ultrasound: there was no growth and no heartbeat.  I had my D&E the next day.

We’ve now been instructed to wait two months before attempting to try again, and with so much happening in the next two months, this was a good time for me to get back on track with my healthy lifestyle stuff, so here’s to the challenge, with my baby in my mind as the goal.

 

Posted on May 15, 2017, in 30 Days Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

