Weddings, Acceptance, and Spiritual Growth

I’ve been maintaining a wedding website through a The Knot, and I was checking to make sure that the information was showing up the way we wanted it to, and saw the countdown on the front page: 148 days.

Erin and I spent the evening before bed sealing and putting stamps on our save the dates to mail them out today.  My mom was at the final hotel (we ended up with three different ones) signing the contract for blocking off a set of rooms for our out-of-town guests.  We’ve ordered samples on our invitations, and we’re waiting on those in the mail.

There’s still a lot to do, and I didn’t realize just how intensive planning a wedding was until I started planning it.  Luckily, my mom has turned into a huge help and has done a lot of the running around.  I’m not entirely sure how I can ever repay my parents for everything they’ve done for this wedding and our wedding present from them (which is our honeymoon!!!!), so I plan on having a happy marriage and lots of grandkids.

One-hundred-and-forty-eight days.  It’ll be here before we know it, and I was reading over the vows and the wedding ceremony the other day, thinking about the words, excited to go through and finalize it all with Erin, and I realized how much peace I felt about my life.

When Erin and I started going to Unity Church, it was because we were looking for a spiritual place to raise our future adopted child.  When the adoption fell through, we leaned on them for support.  We became members and we started getting actively involved there.  We’ve gained so much from them that I will never be able to fully pay back, and when our minister enthusiastically agreed to officiate our wedding, I was both relieved and excited.

Things are moving so quickly here, and everything just keeps getting better and better.  At Unity, the message is always one of inner peace, positive and affirmative prayer, and the understanding that we are never separated from the divine energy within us.

They’ve helped me find my peace with myself and the world around me.  They’ve made me realize that every living creature has the same divine energy running through them that I do, and that when we interact with others, we are interacting with the divine.  It’s made me re-evaluate my thoughts and feelings and pushed me towards more positive and healthy interactions with people in my lives now and people in my past.

I fully realize, now, that our environment and our lives are what we make of them.  That our thoughts and our feelings have a profound effect on our environment and how we think and feel about the situations we find ourselves in.  It’s given me control and given me peace of mind.

I understand that I am only responsible for my actions, thoughts, and feelings.  I control what I say and how I interact with others, and how they respond, or don’t respond, is not my concern.  I want the best for myself and for others.

I am so thankful for all of my life’s experiences that have brought me to where I am today.

Posted on January 29, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

