Pathway to Health: 100 Calorie Biscuits

The other day, I sent Erin to the store on her way home from work to pick up some buttermilk for a baked fried chicken recipe (which was amazing by the way, and so much better than actual fried chicken).  Erin ended up getting an entire half gallon because the smaller ones were all sold out.  When I made the chicken, it only called for two-thirds of a cup, so we ended up having a lot left over.

To keep it from going bad, I decided I would make a huge batch of biscuits.  The problem with biscuits, though, is that they’re either insanely unhealthy or the whole wheat can make them like bricks.

Well, I found a recipe that’s a good balance, in my opinion, and I thought I’d shared my modified version of it.

100-Calorie Biscuits, for Freezing

This recipe makes 24 100-calorie biscuits

  • 4 Cups of King Arthur’s Whole Wheat Flour
  • 8 teaspoons of  baking powder
  • half-teaspoon of salt
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons) of cold unsalted butter
  • 2 cups of low-fat buttermilk
  1. Preheat the oven to 450-degrees (Fahrenheit).Photo Jan 19, 1 14 39 PM
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl and mix until even.
  3. Cut the butter into small squares and cut it into the flour until the mixture is in crumbles.  Don’t get frustrated if you can’t get small crumbles because when you start kneading it, it’ll mix better.
  4. Add the buttermilk and mix until a solid lump of dough.  For this, I used a spoon to mix the buttermilk until it stopped running and then I just used my hands to mix it properly. This step takes around 10 minutes to complete.
  5. Put some extra flour out on the counter and your hands then dump the dough onto the counter.  Press it out until it is about one-half inch to three-fourths of an inch thick.  This step is important.  If the dough is too thin, the biscuits will end up hard.  If it is too thick, you won’t get 24 and they’ll be more than 100 calories.
  6. Use the rim of a glass drinking glass or a biscuit cutter if you have one to cut out the biscuits. Place them on a
    greased cookie sheet or baking sheet.
  7. When you run out of space for the first round of biscuits, fold the dough until it is a solid ball again and then repeat steps five and six until you run out of dough.  You should easily get around 24.Photo Jan 19, 1 14 48 PM
  8. Place them in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes.  Biscuits won’t brown very much, and they should be soft to the touch.  Erin described them as “spongy.”  If you cook them too long, the will become hard, so don’t do them for more than 12 minutes.  Trust me, this is enough time.

Now, this recipe will make 24 biscuits.  I was attempting to get rid of my buttermilk and make biscuits to freeze, so I made two batches of these.  I still had buttermilk left, but I ran out of flour.  I made 48 biscuits, and discovering they were 100-calorie was by accident.  I put the recipe into MyFitnessPal, and it gave me the count, which I thought was fantastic.

Photo Jan 19, 7 54 51 PMIf you make them smaller, then they’ll be less calories.  If they’re bigger, then they’ll be more, but either way.. They’re fairly healthy.  Mine were about 2.5-inches in diameter, I think.  And I’ve read numerous nutrition labels saying that this size of biscuit usually has 200+ calories.  I put them in the microwave to cool before putting them into two separate gallon freezer bags.  Now, all I will have to do is place them in the toaster in the morning for a quick breakfast during the week or warm them in the oven for a dinner or weekend breakfast.

The KA WWB stands for “King Arthur Whole Wheat Biscuits.”  I also added the month and date to the label so that I’m aware of old they are.  When you freeze things, it’s important to know how long it has been frozen.  While it will take awhile, things in the freezer will still go bad.

I hope you like them!  We sure have!

Posted on January 19, 2015, in Pathway to Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

