Ancient Egyptian Faith and Practice in Modern Times

Untitled

Warning: There will be a ramble in this post while I try to collect my thoughts about my upcoming class.

That is a mouthful, but it also the name of the class I am teaching on Mondays at my church starting in January.  Look!  I even have a flyer:

It’s four classes, each an hour long, and I haven’t started writing any of them yet.  I’m not really sure how to teach my Kemetic faith to a group of liberal maybe-Christians (because we have all types that come to our church).

I know that I’m going to preface my lessons with the statement that what they are learning is only one version of the Kemetic faith, which is Independent Family Reformed Kemetic Faith.  There’s probably a few people out there who would think that what I believe is heresy in the Kemetic circles, but a lot of people thought the same things about the reformers of Christianity, so I’m not really all that worried.  I have, however, noticed that the community on WP is more supportive than not, which I think is fantastic.

I think I’ll open or close with the modified KO opening prayer and meditation that I used at my friend’s farewell service when she got into seminary and was moving across the country.  I changed some of the wording and added explanations for who it was I was talking about so that people that aren’t familiar with the deities will have an idea about what is going on.

Opening Kemetic Prayer and Meditation

Hail Akhu, our ancestors, known and unknown, I pour cool water for you.  May you be cooled.

Hail Wepwawet, great God and Opener of the Way, I pour cool water for you.  May you be cooled.

Hail Sebau, our guiding teachers, I pour cool water for you.  May you be cooled.

Hail Ma’at, Goddess of peace and justice, a thousand times pure, I pour cool water for you.  May you be cooled.

Netjer, higher power beyond all knowledge and existence, hear now all the prayers in the hearts of your children.

***Pause for silent prayer and meditation.***

May all these prayers be heard, and become.  Thank you.

Then the lesson will follow.

Actually, I think I may close with the prayer on the first day (and maybe other days, depending), and spend the day talking about vocabulary and basic faith structure before moving into more things in the following days.

Okay, so… basic outline:

Week One: 

  • Open with the story about the creation of the planet, the early existence of the Gods and humanity, and the story of the Celestial Cow.
  • Discuss quote on the flyer and how it relates to the above story.
  • Talk about basic faith tenets: Netjer, Netjeru, Akhu, Sebau
  • Discuss how the Ancient’s beliefs about the Gods and Ancestors relates to our every day life
  • Wrap-Up, answer questions
  • End with the prayer

Week Two:

  • Open with an atypical story (Possibly my PPOV on the Exodus)
  • Talk about the concepts of ma’at and isfet
  • Get into the Negative Confessions, afterlife
  • Discuss how to work work the NC’s into our daily practice to become more spiritually complete
  • Wrap-Up, answer questions
  • End with the prayer

Week Three:

  • Open with the story of Wesir
  • Talk about the spiritual calendar and how it affected the Ancient’s life
  • Discuss how the spiritual calendar can be applied and relevant to our lives today
  • Get into some specific holidays
  • Wrap-Up, answer questions
  • End with the prayer

Week Four:

  • Open with the story of Imhotep
  • Talk about spiritual daily practice, heka
  • Discuss how we can implement past ideals and beliefs to make us more mindful each day about how we interact with others the world
  • Wrap-Up, answer questions
  • End with the prayer

I think I’ll post everything more in detail as I flesh everything out more, but I feel like this is a good start.  Anyone have any ideas of things for me to add?  Take out?  Talk about more in detail?

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Kemetic, Kemeticism, Paganism, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

