One Lovely Blog Award

onelovelyblogawardx4See?  I promise I didn’t forget!!

I was nominated by fellow blogger, Sammie, over at The Chronicles Of A Non-Belly Mama!  She said the absolute most wonderful things about my blog, so I’m going to repost: “Kel is one of those writers that makes you feel things.  Every time something goes on in her life, I go through the emotions with her and E.  I’d be lying if when I read her engagement post, I didn’t lay in bed and tear up through the whole thing.  Through their process of trying to adopt and things going a bit amiss, they support each other and continue to stay positive and will possibly be starting their own TTC journey soon…can’t wait to read about that!”  Hey Sammie, you aren’t the only one tearing up after reading something someone else wrote!  Thank you so much!!

  1. List the rules. Check!
  2. Thank your nominator.   I think I already did this, but I’ll do a better job.  Sammie, thank you so much for nominating me and being around.  You’re posts have been inspirational, supportive, and overall amazing.  I’ve enjoyed reading about your journey and experiencing all of your ups and downs with you.  You have made me laugh and get excited and been a welcomed oasis to the crazy and negative things happening all around Erin and I.  So thank you for nominating me, but also, thank you for being you.
  3. List seven (7) facts about yourself.

    1) There is a zoo living in my house.  My family has always had cats.  I grew up with cats, loved cats, and knew that when I moved out, I would want cats.  I, however, also loved all kinds of other animals, so when I originally moved out, I had a rabbit (Dallas).  Eventually, I ended up with another rabbit (Saratoga) and a hamster (Austin).  Saratoga was rehomed before I moved to Massachusetts, and Dallas and Austin have both died.  Now, my mom loved calico cats, so when I decided to get a cat, I got a calico cat because I knew my mom couldn’t get mad at me for getting a cat if she was calico.  I named her Tori.  Then my roommates moved out and couldn’t take their cat with them, so I got Q-Tip.  Then, when I moved to Massachusetts, my ex found a kitten, who we named Apollo.  After moving back, we got Halo, and then Erin and I adopted Raine from off the streets.  If you lost track, that’s five cats.  Somewhere in that mix, I got Yukon, my dog, and Erin got Bentley (so two dogs).  Then a student gave me her ferret, and we adopted two rats.  So currently, in our house, Erin and I have five cats, two dogs, two rats and a ferret.  I think we spend more money on pet food than on our own food.

    2) I am in the on-off process of writing a novel.  It’s about a girl who believes she’s the only remaining survivor of a worldwide pandemic and it chronicles her journey to leave her home to find a better place.  I started it over a year ago, wrote myself into a corner, and I’m still trying to figure out how to get out of it again.  Also, I have very little time to write… except for blogs.  Erin’s getting upset about it.

    3) Erin is my third fiance.  I guess third time’s a charm, right?  The first girl I was engaged to was named Nikki.  She and I were sweethearts in college.  We were way too young and moved way too fast.  Neither of us were ready for the serious commitment of a relationship like that.  It ended poorly, and I moved back to South Carolina from North Carolina.  The second person I was engaged to was Kody.  We moved to Massachusetts, had a lot of problems, and moved back in hopes that being closer to family and friends would make our relationship better, but it didn’t.  And now, I’m engaged to Erin, and I couldn’t be happier!

    4) I completed one of my life career goals in two years after graduating and finding a job.  When I was in college, I said that if I ever teach high school, that I would want to teach Genetics to high school kids because it was so fascinating and important to the future of medicine and science.  When I got to where I currently work, I started working on getting a Genetics class into the school.  The county offered it, and it made the next year.  I’ve worked my butt off the last two years to make this into a growing and competitive program at the school that the kids enjoy taking and learn a lot in, and I’ve gotten very little negative feedback.

    5) I am working on bringing more interfaith dialogue to my church, along with more inclusive events for people in the mid-to-late 20’s.  I’ve been talking to my minister about teaching a class on different faith backgrounds in such a way that it helps to expand and move people forward on their own spiritual journeys.  We’re hopefully going to meet on Friday to discuss details.  I’m also helping to plan a group for people who are in their 20’s to 30’s to meet and hang out and learn from each other.  I’m really looking forward to getting more involved in this spiritual community!

    6) I wish I read more than I do.  I realize that if I didn’t work as much as I do and then have to go home and grade and possibly sleep, that I would have more time to read, but I wish, desperately, that I had more time to read.  I love reading.  I love reading fiction and non-fiction alike.  I’m not a huge fan of smutty-romance novels, but other than that… It’s one of my goals to read all of Jane Austen’s books, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  I’ve started Sense and Sensibility, but I haven’t finished it… And I haven’t picked it up in a long time.  I miss reading.  Like, a lot.

    7) I’ve been using an app on my phone to track my walking… on an “average” day, I’m walking nearly four miles.  I feel pretty good about that.  I’m trying to get my health back into my control like it was this time last year, so I’m trying to move more, eat better and be more positive.  I’ve lost another 1.5lbs in the last week!

  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers and let them know you did.

To all my lovely TTC blogging ladies out there: you have been so supportive and informative while Erin and I walked through this journey with the failed adoption and now with the beginning steps towards trying to conceive our own child.  Thank you so much for all the love and support you have given us in the last few weeks and thank you ahead of time for all the love and support I know you’ll continue to give.  I’ve enjoyed and continue to enjoy reading about your journeys.  I have learned so much from all of you!

To all of my lovely Pagan bloggers out there:  You all are the examples of why I began blogging in the first place.  I wanted a place to go where I could connect with people of similar spiritual backgrounds, to grow spiritually and learn more about other paths as I did so.  Thank you so much for teaching me so much about your faiths, your lives, and everything else.  You all have definitely helped me on my own journey!

 

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Blog Awards. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the nomination, you made my day! You’re very kind 🙂

  2. Awww, thanks lady! That’s very nice of you!

  1. Pingback: Another Nomination!! | Biblebelt Witch

  2. Pingback: A two-fer | My little Happy Family

Leave a Reply

