A Love Story Continued

My sister is moving to Japan this week.  She got a job teaching five-year-olds English in one of the larger cities in Japan.  It was her dream job, so when she saw the listing, she applied, they interviewed her and then she called me in July, sobbing into the telephone, telling me she got the job.  I immediately started crying when my sister got off the phone with me: my baby sister is moving to the other side of the planet… and it’s going to be soon.

Well, the day has come for her to move.  Erin took a make-up class so we could go to trivia with my family on Thursday.  On Friday, my dad, sister, and I all went out to this fancy-smancy 5-star restaurant where the only way to get in is to have a membership.  You have to dress up all fancy: dresses or khakis and ties with a dress coat.  Sunday best and then some.

While we were out there, my dad says to me, “Kelly, when I was growing up, my parents never approved of anyone I ever brought home, until [my mother], and I can honestly say that your mother and I have never approved of anyone you’ve ever brought home… Until Erin.”

That moment was absolutely amazing.  My parents have come so far in the whole “gay thing” over the last ten years that they’ve known.  It made me smile from ear to ear.

Yesterday was Rachael’s going away dinner.  We originally planned on going to a nice steak house, but then my dad changed his mind and decided on going to the fancy-club again, which I was excited about because Erin hadn’t been when it wasn’t a buffet, so she’d get to experience it when it was “normal.”  We decided to wear our complementary Broadway dresses.  Mine is pink, and hers is black and white with a pink flower that matches my dress.  I put on a little bit of makeup, straightened my hair, did it up big because this was a big deal: my sister is moving to freaking JAPAN!

We’re sitting at a table by the bar, the S. Carolina vs Georgia game is on.  USC is ahead, but not by much.  We order drinks, we order food, we eat and watch the game.  USC wins, we get dessert, and then my mom orders a bottle of champagne to celebrate my sister’s new transition.  We toast to her, drink our champagne, and then Erin says, “I’d like to make a bigger toast to Rachael, if that’s okay.”

All eyes turn to her.  She starts talking about how we all love my sister and how we’ll miss her, how family means a lot to us and a lot to her, she talks about how much she’s loved getting to know her, and she knows that my sister will get to experience so many new and wonderful things.  I look over at my sister and her phone is in her lap facing Erin.  I think, why is she filming this?  Does she want to remember what Erin says to her tonight?  That’s really cute.  She says, “I know that it’s a little sad, though.  I know that you will miss a lot of things, like birthdays and holidays and other celebrations…  But there’s one celebration I know you won’t miss.”

Then she turns to me.  And she says, “Kelly, I love you.  I want to be there for you every day.  I want to be the person who makes you laugh and the person whose shoulder you cry on when you’re sad.  I want to support you through the good times and the bad.”

I feel myself choking up.  I look around at my family who all has these huge grins on their face, and I feel the tears welling up in my eyes.  So many thoughts are running through my head: she’s going to propose, she’s going to propose in front of my FAMILY, my family seems okay with this, my family KNEW!

Erin continues, “So I got you something.”  She goes into her purse and pulls out a box.  My hands fly to my mouth in that “Oh my gosh, I’m so shocked and overwhelmed right now” motion.  I start sobbing.  Erin says, “I liked it, and I want to put a ring on it.  Kelly,” as she gets down on one knee, “Will you marry me?”

At this point, I’m a blubbering mess of tears and happy sobs.  I nod and manage to get out a “YES!” before throwing my arms around her and hugging her.  I turn to my family, they’re all clapping and cheering and saying congrats.  My mom and dad come over to hug us both.  I’m smiling so much my face hurts.

After things calm down, we start talking about how all of this happened.  Erin has been planning this for a month.  She bought the ring in August, and talked to my mom and sister about everything.  My mom kept the ring at her house so that I wouldn’t accidentally find it.  Erin asked my dad for his blessing, which he readily gave to her.  That was the biggest thing for me.  I’m huge on family, and it meant a lot to know that not only did Erin respect my wishes in that way, but that my family was all excited and happy for us too.

Photo Sep 13, 9 04 39 PMMy sister decided that she wanted it done at her dinner.  She wanted to be here when it happened, and Erin said okay.  Then my whole family and Erin worked together to pull off this whole thing, and it was absolutely perfect.  I loved having my family involved in the whole thing and the ring is absolutely beautiful.

After church today, Erin and I went back to the jewelers and turned the ring over to them to have it sized, so I won’t officially have it until September 28th-ish.  Every stone in it (on the left), from the center, to the blue ones to the smaller ones in the band are diamonds.  The blue diamonds are colored with a laser to give them that blue color.

Erin said, “And don’t worry… I got this baby insured for life, so if it’s ever damaged or stolen or lost, we can get it repaired or replaced as needed.”  Amazing.

After we turned my ring in, we walked around the store and Erin picked out the ring she wanted.  We bought it and sent it of to get sized as well.  Erin’s ring is to the right.  It’s blue and white sapphires.  The conversation we had was so… us.Photo Sep 14, 3 06 20 PM

Erin: If it’s not diamonds, is it still an engagement ring?  I don’t really want diamonds.

Me: Baby, this is your ring.  If you are happy with it, then what does it matter what type of stones are in it?

Erin:  Very true.

Sales Guy: And, in Europe, it’s traditionally sapphires instead of diamonds too.  We have diamonds here, they have sapphires here.  Either way, the ring and the stones are beautiful.

Erin decided she wanted that one.  Our rings are perfect, and they fit us so well.

I’m getting married!!!  We haven’t set a date yet because we are waiting to see where things are in a couple of months before we pick the date… but whatever the date is, it’s going to be the part of the century!  I’m marrying the love of my life.  Everything is perfect!

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Life, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m happy for you. 🙂

  2. OMG! I’m lying here crying! This is beautiful!!! Soooo happy for you ladies! Congrats to you both!!! And what a beautiful ring! Those blue diamonds are EVERYTHING!

  3. You got me all teary eyed this morning. Congratulations!!!! So exciting! That South Carolina win was pretty amazing too!

  1. Pingback: Debt and Giving | Stumbling Through Faith

Leave a Reply

