The New Normal

That’s a TV show, isn’t it?  I don’t have cable, so I don’t keep up with all this stuff on TV.  Erin and I almost never watch TV, so we just keep our internet and Netflix and that’s all we need.  SO MUCH CHEAPER, let me tell you!

What is that saying?  The best laid plans often go awry.  That statement is so unbelievably true.  How many times have I had to adjust my “normal” to a “new normal” to compensate for something that the Gods have placed in my path.

Well, it’s happened… again… I think.  It’s all very crazy.

I can’t go into a lot of details right yet… Although some people are more aware than others.  It’ll all be coming out soon, I’m sure.

We all have grand plans for our lives, and most of us take steps to make those grand plans come to fruition, but sometimes the Gods place blessings or trials before us that change our plans somewhat or completely, and we have to deal with those situations before we can continue on.  It’s what I like to call the “New Normal,” which is what you have after all the adjustments have happened.

This is a normal part of life, even though it is generally a terrifying part of life, even if the situation isn’t a bad one.

Here’s how I’ve learned to cope with these situations that force me to find my new normal:

1) Education

Finding your new normal is a process.  Whatever the situation is that you are going through that has forced you into this situation is also a process.  There are people out there that have gone through what you are going through, and the best thing you can do is to research and learn from these people’s experiences.  Unexpected debt? Death? Birth?  All of these things have a process: a way to repay, a way to cope, and a way to prepare.  The first thing you can do is research these situations and learn as much as you can.

Knowledge is power.  Knowing as much as you can will help you to feel empowered on this new journey.  It’ll give you a sense of control over the situation.  It may also help you to find community in others who are going through the same thing you are.

2) Talk/Write it Out

This may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but writing or talking to someone can be a great way to get any feelings that are inside of you out.  I’ve found that bottling up my emotions causes me to feel anxious, and talking them out (or writing them out), has really helped me when I feel like my head might explode.

3) Take Everything Day-by-Day

And don’t forget to remind yourself of the positive.  Even when you have good things happening, the stress level may increase (like in the case of a new baby or promotion at work).  It’s important to remember, even then, that good things are happening.  Always, always, always look for the silver lining.  We can very easily get caught up and trapped in situations where our negative thoughts bring us down.  The quickest way to the new normal is to NOT let this happen.

Remind yourself of what you already have that’s good and keep reminding yourself, and add to it once the list begins to grow as you reach your new normal.

 

Having to adjust to new situations is very rarely easy or fast.  It’s important to remember that things will get better, but they will take time.

And, like always, when things really seem to be out of control, give it up to the Gods.  Let Them take your worry, your pain, and all the negativity so that you can focus on getting back to the New Normal.  When you do that, I promise things will start to immediately FEEL better.

Posted on July 11, 2014, in Life, Love, Pagan Blog Project, PBP, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

