Wonderful Weekend Update

1) I finished my graduate class on Friday.  Pretty sure I made an A.

2) Erin finished her graduate class yesterday, and she DEFINITELY MADE AN A!  I love my smarty-pants girlfriend. 🙂

3) Lindsey Stirling is the BOMB!  I’m serious, if you ever get a chance to go see her in concert, you MUST GO!  You won’t regret it in the least!

About Wednesday, I realized I might not be getting out before lunch like I had hoped with class.  I told the professor that I had to be in Charlotte by 7PM on Friday, and how long did she think we’d be here that day?  She ended up switching some stuff around for me and the class to make sure we were all out in time for me to leave.  Everyone was exhausted anyway, so I wasn’t the only one ready for it all to be done.

We left almost as soon as Erin got home from work and started driving up there.  She had to pack a bag for an overnight she was doing for work, then we were off.

We got there around 5:30, checked the tickets and saw that the concert didn’t start until 8:00pm.  Whoops.  Photo Jun 27, 5 50 03 PMWe were definitely there in plenty of time then.  We got into the already forming line towards the front and started to wait… and wait… and wait some more.  At one point, I look over and it is pretty dark behind the building, and I make some comment about “I hope it doesn’t rain.”  Then the lightening starts… and the thunder… and then the Gods opened up the heavens and it completely down poured on us.  We didn’t have an umbrella, and after the first few claps of thunder and lightening, all there was was the rain, so I resigned myself to being drenched because the other option was losing our spot in line.  And I just made jokes and tried to think warm thoughts.  By the end of it, I think the only way I could have been more wet was to go swimming in all my clothes… Photo Jun 27, 7 19 00 PM

 

Eventually, they let us in and we went to the bathroom to wring out our shirts before getting as close to the stage as we could.  It was standing room only and  first come, first served.  Luckily, with how the rain happened and how everyone was running to the bathrooms immediately after getting in, we got a spot six back from the front of the stage.  It was amazing.Photo Jun 27, 8 39 26 PM

The room was insanely packed.  This was the first time that Lindsey Stirling had been to NC to perform, and I think she was pretty excited that the room was as packed out as it was.  Then this band comes out who is not Lindsey Stirling, and I’m thinking, “Okay, this is fine.  She has an opening act, whatever.”  Turns out, her opening act was AJR, who’s currently single right now is “I’m Ready.”  It’s the song with the SpongeBob Squarepants repeat in it that I KNEW I had heard before.  They’re really, really good.  “I’m ready” is a little annoying when it gets to the SpongeBob stuff, but the other songs they played were really good, and apparently all of them were recorded in their living room.Photo Jun 27, 8 01 32 PM

After they played, there was a break of about 15 minutes before Lindsey Stirling came on.  But when 9 o’clock rolled around, the lights went off and Lindsey Stirling came on and she rocked out so hard that I am STILL reeling from how absolutely amazing she is.  She put on the single most awesome show I have ever seen.  Below are some of the better photos I ended up taking.  Absolutely amazing and so worth the rain!

 

Erin said next time she is going to pop for the Meet and Greet so we can get autographs and pictures taken with her and see her sound check and basically be RIGHT UP IN THE FRONT.  I am sooooo excited!!!

 

 

 

Posted on June 30, 2014, in Random Rants. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

