What Do You Believe? Or… How I Witnessed to The Christian Right.

I love my job.  I love teaching, and I love the students.  And I love my coworkers, with all their quirks and differing views.

Today was the last day of school for the teachers.  It’s what we like to affectionately call “Stuffing Day.”  It’s the day where we come in late and leave early, so long as all the report cards have been finalized and stuffed into envelopes and your keys have been turned in.  It’s the day where everyone says, “I hope you have a great summer” and they mean it because you and they aren’t coming back until August, so help you.

I got there a few minutes late because I was dropping one of our foster cats off at the groomer.  She’s going to rescue this weekend, and she needs to look pretty for it.  When I got there, most of the seats were filled with teachers talking to each other, stuffing report cards, ready to leave and excited that it was all done after this.  I found my name, sat down, and began stuffing.

Slowly, people started to file out of the building, but there were two teachers, one immediately to my right and one directly across from me, talking to each other.  Now, when I say right next to me, I mean it.  There were no seats separating the two of us, and the teacher across from me was directly across from me.

And there conversation was about Jesus and Christianity and the Christian God.  There are two types of teachers at the school: the Christian Right and Everyone Else.  The two that were talking were part of the Christian Right.  I’m party of the “Everyone Else.”  In fact, one of the teachers was the one who asked me on my first day of teaching EVER if I was a follower of Jesus Christ, if that gives you any idea.

Now this year I’ve mastered a skill.  It’s the skill of “I can and will block out every sound around me if it has nothing to do with me personally.”  I phased in and out of their conversation, picking up stuff about Church and spouses reminding them of how great God and Jesus are and how important a relationship is with Christ.  And that’s all fine and good, for them.

Then the conversation started to slow down, and that’s when the question came, “So, Kelly… I was wondering… What do you believe?  Do you have any beliefs?  I mean, are you religious?”

And I thought, Well, they asked.  So I said, “Yes, I do.  I’m Kemetic.”

“What’s that?”

“It’s a reconstruction of Ancient Egyptian beliefs.  It means that I believe in one higher power, but that there are all these lesser gods and goddesses… and that’s not even a good description…  There’s all these different faces of this one higher power.”

Well, obviously that made about as much sense to them as one would expect, so I tried again:

“It’s like… okay… there’s this one higher power, and we, as humans, are incapable of understanding or comprehending this higher power, but this God wants us all to know love, trust, peace… all things positive… so it shows itself to us through different pathways.”

Of course, then, I was asked what a “pathway” meant, and I said, “Christianity, for example, would be a pathway.”

I had their full and undivided attention and it. was. AWESOME!

I told them all about my vision of Bastet in the form of a cat who visited me one night in a dream to tell me that I was loved and accepted and chosen by Her.  I told them about the 42 Negative Confessions, and how judgment and the afterlife worked.  I told them how I came to be a Kemetic after the church turned its back on me for things beyond my control (aka, being gay).  They asked me questions about my every day life and relationship with my God, and I told them that I’m one of those people who sees miracles in every day life: I have a job that I love, I own a home, my bills are paid and there’s food on my table.

I told them that in the past when things got tight, I always remembered that They had my back (even though I felt materialistic during those times), and I’ve never wanted for anything.  I told them that I feel welcomed, and loved, and full of joy when I realize that I’m well looked after and cared for by this higher power, that my best interests are always taken to heart.

And they THANKED ME for sharing my story.  And I definitely smiled the rest of the day at work.

Posted on June 10, 2014, in Belief, Faith, Kemeticism, Life, Pagan Point-Of-View, Paganism, Random Rants, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. How absolutely wonderful. This kind of acceptance is very rare today.

  1. Pingback: Miracles | Stumbling Through Faith

Leave a Reply

