Pagan Point-of-View: Easter

Sunday was Easter.  It’s the Christian holiday for the resurrection of their savior, Jesus.  Even though this holiday is technically more spiritually important than Christmas because of the significance of the meaning behind it all, it’s celebrated less commercially.

In fact, if I hadn’t had spring break this past week, I probably wouldn’t have even known what day Easter was actually on.

I’ve been through the whole deal about how I don’t celebrate Easter because it’s a Christian holiday, and I’m not Christian because I don’t believe that I need a savior to save me from my sins.  Mainly because I don’t believe in the Christian version of sin.

And I’ve tried… Really hard… To see if I need a savior.  I Google things like, “Why do I need Jesus?” and “Do I need a savior?”  These questions ALWAYS reference the Bible, which isn’t a good reference point when your’e trying to convince someone who doesn’t believe in the Bible.  I haven’t found anything that explains WHY sin is something that’s really important to pay attention to, but these are things that spur my own faith and not the specific point of the blog.

The conversation started with Erin asking me, “Are we going to give our kids Easter baskets?”

My immediate response was no.  Easter isn’t our holiday, and I don’t feel comfortable celebrating a holiday that isn’t mine within my own family.  Now, if my parents, who do celebrate Easter, want to get our kids Easter baskets, then I won’t stop them.  We’ll celebrate Easter with our families, but not within ourselves.  It’ll be  conversation that we’ll have to have with our kids as well.

“Now, we’re going over to Oma and Opa’s house to celebrate Easter, but I want you to know that this is their holiday and we are to be respectful of their beliefs; however, it’s not how we believe.  Oma and Opa’s God is different from our Gods, but not any greater or lesser than.  Just a different face for the higher powers.”

That’s obviously a rough draft.

The problem is, I want to be able to celebrate some the “traditionally Pagan Easter” things like dying eggs an having an egg hunt, or maybe even a bunny visit.  I’m not sure.  I feel like it’s reclaiming some aspects of tradition that have morphed into something else.  Then, do we call it spring equinox?  I’m not sure if there’s a Kemetic Holiday around this time that would fit.  I’m still working out the Kemetic spiritual calendar, but it’s hard to find information on it.  (In fact, if anyone out there has a good course, let me know.  I’m in the market.)

I haven’t heard back from the KO class yet, but I’m not in a rush.  If it’s meant to be, then it is meant to be.

I’ve decided that this summer, in between my graduate school classes and working on stuff for school next year, I’m going to create a manual… or at least start a manual… that outlines everything that I believe.  In a way, I guess it would be a family “Book of Shadows” that contains all the information needed for quick reference.  Specific myths with the meaning behind the stories, relationships between different Gods and Goddesses.  Holidays with dates and suggested things to do to celebrate those holidays.  I don’t mind celebrating the wheel of the year, but I want to get away from the strictly “Wiccanate” cross-quarter holidays and focus more on Kemetic specific days.  The only one I have memorized is Wep Ronpet and the Five Days Out of Time.

It feels like a rather daunting task to try and sit down and really hash all this stuff out, but I think that’s what sets Paganism off from a lot of other religions.  You can, for the most part, hash stuff out for yourself.  You have to take ownership of your faith and you practice rather than having it handed to you from someone.  You can study and learn from someone, but you have to really take ownership of it.  There isn’t any “one right and true way.”  I’m looking forward to the challenge.  I’m just not sure where to start, but before I worry too much about it… I need to get through the end of the school year.

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Belief, Faith, Kemeticism, Pagan Point-Of-View, Religion, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

