The Power of Two

Two may not seem like a huge number, but it’s a big number for me and my family.

Two is the number of months I have before summer break, but it’s actually less than that.

Two is the number of graduate classes at Clemson that I plan on taking this summer, if I get in, and I should find out in approximately two days.  One of them is on Genetics and the other is Ecology.  I’m working towards my +30 to get a raise, and this will put me 3 hours short of being half way done.

Two is the number of months old my goddaughter is, and I’m super excited about keeping her for two days on Friday and Saturday while her mother works.

Two is the number of days that Erin took off work for her surgery where she had two procedures done: one to remove a tooth, the other to free a tooth and tie it to her braces to move it into place.  I’ve been playing nurse all day to help her recover from the surgery, which was this morning.  She very much on the mend now, which is excellent.

Two is the number of the next anniversary Erin and I will be sharing.  She’s currently the longest continuous relationship that I’ve ever had.  It took me a long time to get to a point where I understood what it meant to be in a relationship, in a partnership.  It took me a long time to stop settling for what I thought I deserved and start waiting for what I knew I did, and when that happened, Erin walked into my life.  We started dating, officially and exclusively, in February of 2013, and it’s been the most amazing year and two months of my life.

Two is the number of years Erin has left before she gets her Masters degree and her Board Certified Behavioral Analysis Certification.  Her classes start on Tuesday and she’ll graduate in August 2016.  After that, we might end up anywhere in the country depending on where her job takes us.  I love the south, but I miss Massachusetts.  I miss equality.  I know, eventually, that the laws will change.  As a teacher, I’m out at my job, but I’m unable to be on the front lines anymore.  Anyone in my position, who has a state job, in South Carolina is in the same boat at me.  It’s just the way things are.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the south, but I’ve lived here almost my entire life, and I’m ready to try somewhere else again; however, if Erin’s job remains here, I won’t complain.  I’m excited to take the journey anywhere it takes us (She said there’s a lot of jobs in Charleston, and living on the beach would be amazing, but it can all change in two years).

And finally, two is the number of years before weddings and babies start happening, but I’ll write more on that when the times comes.  2016 is going to be a big year!

 

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Life, Love, Random Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like a lot of great twos. All the best!

Leave a Reply

