Milestones and Resolutions

We all have milestones that we go through in our lives.  When we’re younger, these milestones are set before us by doctors and teachers and our parents: learning to stand, learning to walk, reading, driving, algebra.  When we get older, we start evaluating our lives and making milestones for our future: going to college, graduating, starting a career, starting a family, buying a house.  It’s like a bucket list of essentials.

Each year, many people, including myself, make New Year’s resolutions.  I wrote a post about it earlier, but I do New Year’s Resolutions a little different.  My list is a list of items that I want to have completed by the end of the year.  I figure since we’re three months into the year, I would do an update so that I could keep myself motivated.

1) Continue to not smoke for 2014.
This one is probably the easiest for me to do. I quit smoking on January 13, 2013.  It’s been a year, and after a year, it’s easy to keep doing something you aren’t doing anymore.  Just maintaining the status quo!  And it feels fantastic.

2) Get to a weight loss mini-goal of 170 (that’s roughly another 35 pounds) by December 31, 2014.
This goal is turning out into something different than what it originally was.  Erin and I have started working out more, so I’m building a lot of muscle, which is replacing the fat, but it’s not making the number on the scale go down.  I’ve lost four inches off my waist and once inch off my hips.  There’s weight loss, but it’ll take a few months before it starts showing up on the scale.  I’ve really enjoyed the time Erin and I get to spend together at the gym.  It gives us a lot of us bonding time while doing something productive.

3) Cut my meat intake down to once a day, three times a week by December 31, 2014.
Hah!  We’ve added more veggie-only meals to our dinners, but I’m definitely still eating meat on a daily basis.  I need to switch to vegan lunch “meat” for my wraps, but I just haven’t gotten around to doing that.  It’ll drop my meat intake down from sometimes twice a day to always once a day.  From there, I’ll be able to drop down the days during the week.  We’ve added red meat back into our diet on a very limited basis: One of Erin’s client’s mother takes her to Happy Cow Creamery each week and about once a month for a “field trip,” and Erin picks up some organic grass-fed beef.  It’s the absolute weirdest thing, but if you cook this meat on the skillet on the stove there’s next to NO grease/fat left over and it’s fantastic.  It’s like a treat for us on a rare basis.. (Sidenote: Erin works one on one with kids who have autism to help them with daily life skills and learning.  It’s a really tough jobs some days, but she always talks about how rewarding it is as well.)

4) Work out three days a week on a regular basis by December 31, 2014.
We’re actually working on more than three days a week.  If we have a good week, we’re at the gym five out of the seven days.  We aren’t at the gym three days a week every week, but we are doing really well with going at least twice a week.   By the end of the year, we’ll definitely have this one down easy, hopefully, even, by the end of next month.  I really use to hate going to the gym, but I love this place.  Erin has really motivated me to be a healthier, better person.  We’re making some big plans for the next couple of years, and I want to be physically ready for those.

5) Read 12 books (one a month) in 2014.
I’m doing well on this one, too.  So far, I’ve read:
Bumped by Megan McCafferty
Crossed
 by Ally Condie
Matched by Ally Condie

I’ve technically read The Concrete Blonde by Michael Connelly, but I started it at the end of last year, so I didn’t count it.  Right now, I’m reading Jesus Through Pagan Eyes by Rev. Mark Townsend and Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  I want to read World War Z some time this year, so that’s on my “planned to read” list.

6) Finalize my spiritual calendar, creating spiritual practices to solidify my focus on the gods in 2014.
I haven’t started this one yet.  There hasn’t been enough time.  I figure I’ll do this one during the summer when I’m not so consumed with grading, graduate school classes, and testing.

7) Meditate at least once a week for ten minutes on a regular basis by December 31, 2014.
I haven’t started this one either.  You’d think it’d be easy, but it’s hard to find all the time.  I guess I need to work this one into my days off from the gym.  Eventually, I want to work up to an every night thing, but I have a few years before I want that goal completely met.

8) Write a minimum of 24 blogs (that’s two a month) in 2014.
I’m ahead of this one.  When I published my blog yesterday, I got a notification that I had reached blog 20, which means I’ve written 19 blogs this year… And this one is blog 20!  Four more blogs for this resolution to be met, but I’m definitely not going to stop writing.  As part of the Pagan Blog project, I’m writing on a letter every week like you’re supposed to do.  There’s 52 weeks in a year, 26 letters in the alphabet, so spending two weeks per letter seems like it was meant to be!

On a different note, I’ve been thinking about other milestones I want to reach sometime within the next few years and decided to create a sort of bucket list:

Within the next two years:

  • Replace the carpets in my house with bamboo flooring on the second floor and both sets of stairs
  • Redo the backyard
  • Get engaged and then get married… 😉
  • Go to either Hawaii or to Europe.  I’m more partial to Europe for two weeks than to Hawaii because I feel like Hawaii could more easily be done with a family instead of Europe (Honeymoon anyone?? Hello! I think yes.)
  • Complete the required graduate classes to get a $5,000/year raise
  • See Erin graduate from her Masters program and get her BCBA

Within the next three years:

  • Have a baby
  • Determine if I want to go back to school for administration or another field in Education and then apply for doctorate programs to possibly go into policy at the district level.

Within the next five years:

  • Have a second baby
  • Sell or rent current house
  • Buy second house with bigger yard and fence that is stand alone

Now, some of these are assuming that Erin and I don’t move out of state in the next three years.  Her BCBA could take us anywhere in the country if it’s the job she wants and it’s going to pay well.  If that’s the case the selling of the house might happen sooner than within the next five years.

As for the house, I love this place.  It’s the best place to start out homeownership because I get all the perks and responsibilities of being a homeowner but without the added stress of keeping up a yard or paying for the exterior if something goes wrong.  Got a roof leak?  The homeowners’ association pays for that.  Back deck board loose?  Don’t pay for that either.  It’s fantastic.  I haven’t had to mow a lawn in the entire year I’ve been here.  My mom told me today that she said my aunt was talking about how well I did for a first place.  It was move in ready when I got it, but I’m doing some stuff (like fencing in the backyard, putting in deck stairs, ripping up the carpet, getting new appliances, etc) so that it will sell for more when I get ready to move out.  That was a huge and exciting milestone for me when it happened.

Another big milestone that I felt like I’ve reached in the last year is being out at work.  When I first started teaching, I felt nervous about having my partner at the time come to any functions with the school, and when people threatened to out me to my boss, it made me really nervous because I was scared of losing a job that I had worked hard for and loved.  But after I started dating Erin and I knew that we were going to be it to win it, I stopped caring about what other people thought.  I also had my continuing contract, so it’s difficult to fire me for stupid reasons, like being gay.  Now, my closest coworkers all have met Erin and ask about her often.  Even my boss, the principal, asks how she’s doing.  She’s brought me dinner to many of the late night functions and even spent the day with me at work as a guest speakers.  Most of the students at the school know, and as far as I know (or care), they don’t care and actually think it’s cool to have a “gay teacher.”

On a sidenote: Those that do care or don’t like me, I don’t care.  I’m not there to be their friend.  I’m there to be their teacher.  Not every student is going to like me, and I got over that bullshiz after my first year of teaching.  I’ve heard from some other teachers that I’ve gotten the rep of being one who “doesn’t play around,” and I’m A-Ok with that.  I got voted, by the students, for Teacher of the Month with “more votes than anyone’s gotten ever,” so obviously some students out there like me.  Not everyone is going to like you, and that’s perfectly okay.  If you spend all your time trying to be friends with everyone, you lose yourself and your purpose in the process. /Rant

Okay, that was another ramble post, so time for bed.

Posted on March 6, 2014, in Life, Love, New Year's Resolutions, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

