Returning of The Sun

My job requires early mornings.  Not as early as it has been in the past because we start later this year than we have in the past, but they’re still early nonetheless. Usually, when I wake up, the room is dark. My alarm is flashing a strobe to wake me, and the sound is that of a pulsating foghorn. I hit the snooze button.

At that point, Erin usually snuggles up and puts me into some sort of Judo hold where I can’t get out of bed. And it’s super cute and I love cuddles, so I don’t immediately get out of bed. I wait for the second round of foghorns.

But today was different. It’s been happening slowly, more and more each day, but today was the first day that I noticed, I mean really noticed that the sun was coming back. I was born and raised in the south. The sun has always been a thing that’s just always around.

Now this may seem elementary, but I love the sun. I love the heat of the sun. I love the light, and the little bits of radiation that create vitamin D in my skin to boost my mood and calcium levels in my bones. (That escalated quickly, didn’t it?) I lived in Massachusetts for a year a few years back. I moved up there for graduate school so I could go through what was basically my ideal graduate program for education training. My friend, Alex, warned me about the sun, but I really had no idea. I thought I was prepared, but I so very much wasn’t.

School there started at 7:30AM. Even though I lived just down the road, I was still up at 5:45 every day. Then I was inside… And then driving or riding with friends to class until 7:00pm at night. The short time I was out in the sun was just that: a very short time. When the sun rises late and sets early, it’s hard to catch some rays. And before I even really realized it, I was buried in some fairly dark seasonal affective. I looked into buying a UV light, but I couldn’t afford it. It was the first year that I really noticed the sun coming back and realized what it meant to me personally.

But when I really saw it coming back that year, it brought with it such an amazing hope of better things to come.

Since then, I’ve been super sensitive to the sun.  I feel its disappearance more, but with constantly reminding myself of its return, I can maintain a more positive outlook on life.  Then, when days like today happen, and I actually see it coming back, that hope and excitement fill me again.

I can’t wait for the sun’s full return.  I can’t wait to be back out on the lake kayaking or hiking.  Erin and I have a goal of hiking Table Rock this year, and I’m so very much looking forward to it.  It’s, from what I’ve read, one of the hardest hiking trails.  I also want to hike hospital rock, which is *the* hardest trail, from what I’ve been told.  That’s off topic.  I’m just excited.

There’s so much that I want to accomplish in the next few years, and the returning of the sun reminds me that it will be possible.  The season of fulfilling dreams is back!  We’re moving out of the season of hope into the season of fruition, and I’m so excited that it’s happening!

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Balance, Love, Positive, Religion, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

